
RENEWAL CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT 

1. COMPLETE APPLICATION AND HAVE NOTARIZED.
2. COMPLETE PHYSICAL AND MENTAL HEALTH RELEASE FORM AND HAVE

NOTARIZED
3. SIGN DO'S AND DON'T FORM
4. COMPLETE THE AFFIDAVIT FORM AND HAVE NOTORIZED

FEE .... $75 CASH /  ONLY EXACT CHANGE  / NON-REFUNDABLE 

APPLICATIONS TAKEN BY APPOINTMENT ONLY!  

TO SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT, CONTACT: 
JOYCE PHILLIPS @ 919-718-4561, EXT 5 

LISA BLACK @ 919-718-4561, EXT 6 

INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED 



STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA 
 

APPLICATION FOR  
CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT 

NEW PERMIT RENEWAL PERMIT       

DUPLICATE EMERGENCY TEMPORARY PERMIT    
     G. S. 14-415.10 et seq. 

Name of Applicant   (Last, First, Middle, Maiden)     Attach listing of all previous
addresses and all name changes including location and court file number  (If Applicable) 
 

Street Address 
 

Date of Birth Social Security Number   
  See Notification on page 3

City 
 

State 
 

Zip Code 
 

Driver’s License Number   (State ID Number if no driver’s license)
 

State 
 

Mailing Address 
 

Military Status 
  Active  Reserve 

  Discharged   Retired   N/A 

Race 
  See below for code 

 

Sex Hair 

Telephone Number 
 

County of Residence 
 

Eyes 
 

Height 
 

Weight 
 

Other Physical Description 
 

 RACE CODES:  A–Asian or Pacific Islander,  B–Black,  I–American Indian or Alaskan Native,  U–Unknown,  W–White

APPLICATION 
I, the undersigned applicant, being duly sworn, hereby make application for a North Carolina Concealed Handgun Permit 
and state that the following information is correct to the best of my knowledge. 

 (Check Appropriate Boxes) 

1. Are you a citizen of the United States? (1)         Yes  No 
 

* If No:   Have you been lawfully admitted for permanent residence?  *  Yes  No  
  If Yes, attach documentation

2. Are you 21 years of age or older? (2)  Yes  No 
3. Have you been a resident of North Carolina for 30 days or longer immediately preceding the date of this application? (3)  Yes  No 
4. Do you suffer from a physical or mental infirmity that prevents the safe handling of a handgun? (4)  Yes  No 
5. Have you successfully completed an approved firearms safety and training course which involved the actual firing

of handguns and instruction in the laws of North Carolina governing the carrying of a concealed handgun and the
use of deadly force?   If Yes, attach documentation  (5)  Yes  No 
* If No:   Do you meet any of the exceptions in N.C.G.S. § 14-415.12A?  *  Yes  No  
  If Yes, attach documentation

6. Are you ineligible to own, possess, or receive a firearm under the provisions of State or federal law? (6)  Yes  No 
7. Are you under indictment or has a finding of probable cause been entered against you for a pending felony charge? (7)  Yes  No 

8. Have you been adjudicated guilty in any court of a felony? (8)  Yes*  No 
* If Yes:   Have your firearm rights been restored pursuant to N.C.G.S. § 14-415.4?  *  Yes  No  
  If Yes, attach documentation

9. Are you a fugitive from justice? (9)  Yes  No 
10. Are you an unlawful user of (or addicted to) marijuana, alcohol, or any depressant, stimulant, or narcotic drug,

or any other controlled substance as defined in 21 U.S.C. § 802? (10)  Yes  No 
11. Are you currently or have you been previously adjudicated or administratively determined to be lacking

mental capacity or mentally ill? (11)  Yes  No 
12. Have you been discharged from the U.S. Armed Forces under conditions other than honorable? (12)  Yes  No 
13. Have you been adjudicated guilty of, or received a prayer for judgment continued for, or received a suspended sentence

for, one or more crimes of violence constituting a misdemeanor, including but not limited to, a violation of the disqualifying
criminal offenses listed on page 3 of this form?     See “List of Disqualifying Criminal Offenses” on page 3 (13)  Yes  No 

14. Have you had an entry of prayer for judgment continued for a criminal offense which would disqualify you
from obtaining a handgun permit? (14)  Yes  No 

15. Are you free on bond or personal recognizance pending trial, appeal, or sentencing for a crime which
would disqualify you from obtaining a concealed handgun permit? (15)  Yes  No 

16. Have you been convicted of an impaired driving offense under N.C. G.S. § 20-138.1, 20-138.2, or 20-138.3
within three years prior to the date of this application? (16)  Yes  No 
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I hereby apply for a Temporary Emergency Permit for a nonrenewable period of up to 45 days based upon the 
information set forth below.  I reasonably believe that an emergency situation exists which may constitute a  
risk of safety to me, my family, or my property. 

State Grounds for Temporary Emergency Permit   (Use attachment if necessary) 

(To be completed for RENEWALS only) –  I currently hold a valid Concealed Handgun Permit issued by the    
 County Sheriff’s Office.  I hereby affirm that I remain qualified to receive and possess this Concealed Handgun 
Permit pursuant to the criteria set forth in Article 54B of Chapter 14 of the NC General Statutes and the criteria 
outlined in this application. 

SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED TO BEFORE ME 
 

Date 
 

 

Date 
 

Signature of Person Authorized to Administer Oaths 
 

Signature of Applicant 

 

Title 

CAUTION 
Federal law and State law on the possession of handguns and  
firearms may differ.  If you are prohibited by federal law from  
possessing a handgun or a firearm, you may be prosecuted in federal 
court.  A State permit is not a defense to a federal prosecution. 

 

Date Commission Expires 

 ___________________  SEAL 

SHERIFF USE ONLY 
Check List  —  check applicable boxes: 

1. Nonrefundable Permit Fee Paid  ...............................................................

2. One Full Set of Fingerprints Administered by the Sheriff’s Office  ......

3. Original Certificate of Completion
of Approved Firearms Safety & Training Course  ..................................

4. Renewal‒Waiver of Application Firearm Safety & Training Course … 

5. Attachment(s) (Specify) ________________________________________

6. Temporary Documentation  ........................................................................

7. Other  (Specify) _______________________________________________

8. Date Issued Temporary Permit _____________________________

9. Date Denied Temporary Permit ____________________________

10. Date Issued Permit _______________________________________

Permit Number ______________________________________ 

11. Date Denied Permit _______________________________________

12. Date Submitted to SBI ____________________________________

13. NICS Transaction Number (NTN)
________________________________________________________

Signature of Sheriff:   _____________________________________________________________________ 

 Original – Sheriff    /    Copy – Applicant 
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LIST OF DISQUALIFYING CRIMINAL OFFENSES 
 NOTE:  Effective July 1, 2015 for all CHP applications – an applicant who has been found guilty of or received a prayer for judgment

continued or a suspended sentence for one of the offenses listed in 1-20, AND THREE YEARS HAS PASSED PRIOR TO 
SUBMITTING THE APPLICATION, can receive a Concealed Handgun Permit.  

1. Simple assault ......................................................................................................................................................................................................N.C.G.S § 14-33(a) 
2. Violation of court orders .................................................................................................................................................................................... N.C.G.S. § 14-226.1 
3. Furnishing poison, controlled substances, deadly weapons, cartridges, ammunition, or alcoholic beverages to inmates of

charitable, mental or penal institutions, or local confinement facilities ..................................................................................................... N.C.G.S. § 14-258.1 

4. Carrying weapons on campus or other educational property .................................................................................................................... N.C.G.S. § 14-269.2 
5. Carrying weapons into assemblies and establishments where alcoholic beverages are sold and/or consumed ............................. N.C.G.S. § 14-269.3 
6. Carry weapons on State property and courthouses .................................................................................................................................... N.C.G.S. § 14-269.4 
7. Possession and/or sale of spring-loaded projectile knives ......................................................................................................................... N.C.G.S. § 14-269.6 
8. Impersonation of a law enforcement officer or other public officer............................................................................................................... N.C.G.S. § 14-277 
9. Communicating threats ..................................................................................................................................................................................... N.C.G.S. § 14-277.1 
10. Carry weapons at parades and other public gatherings ............................................................................................................................. N.C.G.S. § 14-277.2 
11. Exploding dynamite cartridges and/or bombs (except fireworks violations under N.C.G.S. § 14-414) ................................................... N.C.G.S. § 14-283 
12. Rioting and inciting a riot .................................................................................................................................................................................. N.C.G.S. § 14-288.2 
13. Fighting or conduct creating the threat of imminent fighting or other violence ............................................................................... N.C.G.S. § 14-288.4(a)(1) 
14. Looting and trespassing during an emergency ............................................................................................................................................. N.C.G.S. § 14-288.6 
15. Assault on emergency personnel .................................................................................................................................................................... N.C.G.S. § 14-288.9 
16. Violations of City state of emergency ordinances ...................................................................................................................................... N.C.G.S. § 14-288.12 
17. Violations of County state of emergency ordinances ................................................................................................................................ N.C.G.S. § 14-288.13 
18. Violations of State of emergency ordinances.............................................................................................................................................. N.C.G.S. § 14-288.14 
19. Violations of the standards for carrying a concealed weapon .............................................................................................................. N.C.G.S. § 14-415.21(b) 
20. Misrepresentation on certification of qualified retired law enforcement officers ............................................................................... N.C.G.S. § 14-415.26(d) 

  NOTE:  Offenses listed in 21-32 are permanent disqualifiers for a Concealed Handgun Permit.
21. Assault inflicting serious injury or using deadly force ................................................................................................................ N.C.G.S. § 14-33(c)(1) 
22. Assault on a female .................................................................................................................................................................... N.C.G.S § 14-33(c)(2) 
23. Assault on a child under the age of 12 ....................................................................................................................................................... N.C.G.S. § 14-33(c)(3) 
24. Assault inflicting serious injury or using a deadly weapon on a person in a personal relationship and in the

presence of a minor ........................................................................................................................................................................................... N.C.G.S. § 14-33(d) 

25. Stalking ............................................................................................................................................................................................................. N.C.G.S. § 14-277.3A 
26. Child abuse ......................................................................................................................................................................................................... N.C.G.S. § 14-318.2 
27. Domestic criminal trespass ............................................................................................................................................................N.C.G.S. § 14-134.3 
28. Domestic violence protective order violations ................................................................................................................................. N.C.G.S. § 50B-4.1 
29. Stalking .............................................................................................................................................................................. Former N.C.G.S. § 14-277.3 
30. Any person convicted of a “misdemeanor crime of domestic violence” as defined in federal law at 18 USC 922(g)(8).
31. Any crimes involving assault or a threat to assault a law enforcement officer, probation or parole officer, person employed at a

State or local detention facility, firefighter, emergency medical technician, medical responder, or emergency department personnel.
32. Misdemeanor crimes that involve violence (other than the misdemeanors listed in items 1-20).
33. Misdemeanor crimes under Article 8 of Chapter 14 (other than the misdemeanors listed in items 1-20).

 SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER:  The disclosure of your social security number as a part of this Concealed Handgun Permit application is voluntary.  The purpose of
requesting the social security number is to assist in your identification and to help distinguish you from other persons with similar names.  No Concealed Handgun Permit 
will be denied for failure to disclose a social security number. 
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THE DOS AND DON’TS OF CARRYING A 
CONCEALED HANDGUN 

 YOUR PERMIT TO CARRY A CONCEALED HANDGUN MUST BE CARRIED ALONG WITH VALID IDENTIFICATION WHENEVER 
THE HANDGUN IS BEING CARRIED CONCEALED.

 WHEN APPROACHED OR ADDRESSED BY ANY OFFICER, YOU MUST DISCLOSE THE FACT THAT YOU HAVE A VALID
CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT AND INFORM THE OFFICER THAT YOU ARE IN POSSESSION OF A CONCEALED HANDGUN.
YOU SHOULD NOT ATTEMPT TO DRAW OR DISPLAY EITHER YOUR WEAPON OR YOUR PERMIT TO THE OFFICER UNLESS
AND UNTIL HE DIRECTS YOU TO DO SO. YOUR HANDS ARE TO BE KEPT IN PLAIN VIEW AND YOU ARE NOT TO MAKE ANY
SUDDEN MOVEMENTS.

 AT THE REQUEST OF ANY LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER, YOU MUST DISPLAY BOTH THE PERMIT AND VALID
IDENTIFICATION.

 YOU MAY NOT, WITH OR WITHOUT A PERMIT, CARRY A CONCEALED WEAPON WHILE CONSUMING ALCOHOL OR WHILE 
ALCOHOL OR ANY CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES ARE IN YOUR BLOOD UNLESS THE CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE WAS
OBTAINED LEGALLY AND TAKEN IN THERAPEUTICALLY APPROPRIATE AMOUNTS.

 YOU MUST NOTIFY THE SHERIFF’S OFFICE WHO ISSUED THE PERMIT OF ANY ADDRESS CHANGE WITHIN THIRTY (30)
DAYS OF THE CHANGE OF ADDRESS. YOU MUST HAVE YOUR CURRENT ADDRESS ON YOUR LICENSE BEFORE WE CAN 
MAKE A CHANGE.

 IF A PERMIT IS LOST OR DESTROYED, YOU MUST NOTIFY THE SHERIFF WHO ISSUED THE PERMIT AND YOU MAY
RECEIVE A DUPLICATE PERMIT BY SUBMITTING A NOTARIZED STATEMENT TO THAT EFFECT ALONG WITH THE REQUIRED
FEE. DO NOT CARRY A HANDGUN WITHOUT IT.

 EVEN WITH A PERMIT, YOU MAY NOT CARRY A CONCEALED HANDGUN IN THE FOLLOWING AREAS:
• ANY LAW ENFORCEMENT OR CORRECTIONAL FACILITY;
• ANY SPACE OCCUPIED BY STATE OR FEDERAL EMPLOYEES;
• ANY PREMISES WHERE THE CARRYING OF A CONCEALED HANDGUN IS PROHIBITED BY THE POSTING OF A

STATEMENT BY THE CONTROLLER OF THE PREMISES;
• EDUCATIONAL PROPERTY;
• STATE OCCUPIED PROPERTY;
• ANY STATE OR FEDERAL COURTHOUSE;
• IN ANY AREA PROHIBITED BY FEDERAL LAW;
• ANY LOCAL GOVERNMENT BUILDING IF THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT HAS ADOPTED AN ORDINANCE AND POSTED

SIGNS PROHIBITING THE CARRYING OF CONCEALED WEAPONS.
 IF YOU ARE IN A VEHICLE AND STOPPED BY A LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER, YOU SHOULD PUT BOTH HANDS ON THE

STEERING WHEEL, ANNOUNCE YOU ARE IN POSSESSION OF A CONCEALED HANDGUN AND STATE WHERE YOU HAVE IT
CONCEALED, AND THAT YOU ARE IN POSSESSION OF A PERMIT. DO NOT REMOVE YOUR HANDS FROM THE WHEEL
UNTIL INSTRUCTED TO DO SO BY THE OFFICER.

THIS IS TO CERTIFY THAT I HAVE READ AND UNDERSTAND THE DOS AND DON’TS OF CARRYING A CONCEALED 
HANDGUN. 

DATE SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT 

DATE SIGNATURE OF WITNESS 

MAY 2020 



STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA 
COUNTY OF LEE 
 

IN THE MATTER OF THE CONCEALED 
HANDGUN PERMIT RENEWAL OF: 

 
 

AFFIDAVIT 

 

NAME: PERMIT NUMBER: 

  
I currently hold a concealed handgun permit with  COUNTY. 
 
Pursuant to NCGS§14‐415.16, I am hereby making timely application for the renewal of this permit. I hereby affirm that I 
remain qualified to possess this permit pursuant to the criteria set forth in Article 54B of Chapter 14 of the North Carolina 
General Statues, specifically, I affirm that: 

 
 

1. I have successfully completed an approval firearms safety and training course which involved the actual 
firing of handguns and instruction in the laws of North Carolina governing the carrying of a concealed 
handgun and the use of deadly force or am otherwise exempted from this course. 

2. I am eligible to own, possess, or receive a firearm under the provisions of state and federal law. 
3. I am not under indictment nor has any finding of probable cause been entered for a pending felony 

charge. 
4. I have not been adjudicated guilty in any court of law for a felony. 
5. I am not a fugitive from justice. 
6. I am not an unlawful user of, or addicted to, marijuana, alcohol, or any depressant, stimulant, or 

narcotic drug, or any other controlled substance as defined in 21 U.S.C. Section 802. 
7. I am not currently, and have not previously been adjudicated or administratively determined to be 

lacking mental capacity or mentally ill. 
8. I have not been discharged from the armed forces under conditions other than honorable. 
9. I have not been adjudicated guilty of or received a prayer for judgment continued or suspended 

sentence for one or more crimes of violence constituting a misdemeanor, including but not limited to, a 
violation of the disqualifying criminal offenses listed on attachment (1) to this form. 

10. I have not had an entry of prayer for judgment continued for a criminal offense which would disqualify 
me from obtaining a concealed handgun permit. 

11. I am not free on bond or personal recognizance pending trial, appeal, or sentencing for a crime which 
would disqualify me from obtaining a concealed handgun permit. 

12. I have not been convicted of an impaired driving offense under G.S. 20‐138.1, 20‐138.2, or 20‐138.3 
within three (3) years prior to the date of this affidavit. 

13. I am 21 years of age or older. 
14. I am a citizen of the United States. 

 
Applicant Signature: Date: 

  
 

SWORN/AFFIRMED AND SUBSCRIBED TO BEFORE ME 
                                                                                                                
  

 
 

 
 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

Date Signature Of Person Authorized To Administer Oaths 

Title 

Date Commission Expires 
 

SEAL 



RELEASE OF PHYSICAL AND MENTAL 
HEALTH, SUBSTANCE ABUSE AND 

CONFIDENTIAL COURT RECORDS FOR 
CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT

STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA

 County

G.S. 14-415.13(a)(5)
Name And Address Of Applicant Date Of Birth Social Security No.

State Drivers License No. (State Identification No. if no Drivers License) State

I hereby authorize and require any and all doctors, hospitals or other providers who have ever provided physical or mental health or 
substance abuse treatment or care to me, including without limitation the providers named below, to release to the sheriff of the above 
named county any and all records concerning my physical capacity, mental health, mental capacity or substance abuse that the sheriff 
may reasonably request in connection with my application for a concealed handgun permit. The purpose of the release is to enable the 
sheriff to determine my qualification and competence to handle a handgun. I understand that alcohol and substance abuse information is 
protected by federal regulations and that other confidential records such as psychiatric information may be protected by North Carolina 
statute. Accordingly, I specifically authorize the release of any and all alcohol, substance abuse and psychiatric information that may be 
documented in my records. 

I understand that further disclosure or redisclosure by the sheriff of any information disclosed to the sheriff pursuant to this Release is 
prohibited without my further written consent unless otherwise provided for by state or federal law. I understand that I may revoke this 
authorization at any time except to the extent that action has already been taken in reliance on this Release. Even without my express 
revocation, this Release will expire upon the satisfaction of the request or one year from the date below, whichever occurs first.

Name Of Provider Address Of Provider

I also request and authorize any and all clerks of superior court of North Carolina to inform the sheriff of this County whether or not the 
clerk’s records contain the record of any involuntary commitment proceeding under Article 5 of Chapter 122C of the General Statutes in 
which I have been named as a respondent and, if so, to reveal to the sheriff any confidential information in the court files or records of 
each such proceeding that the sheriff may reasonably require in order to determine whether or not to issue a concealed handgun permit 
to me. This Release may be treated as a motion in the cause within the meaning of G.S. 122C-54(d) and a clerk may reveal information 
to the sheriff pursuant to any specific or standing order entered in response to or anticipation of this motion.

I authorize the sheriff to photocopy this Release after I sign it, and I authorize any provider to whom a photocopy of this Release is 
presented to rely on the photocopy as being as effective as the original.

NOTE: �Pursuant to G.S. 14-415.15(a), no person, company, mental health provider, or governmental entity may charge additional fees to 
the applicant for a concealed handgun permit for a background check under that subsection.

Date

Date Signature Of Person Authorized To Administer Oaths

Title

Date Commission Expires

Signature Of Applicant

SWORN/AFFIRMED AND SUBSCRIBED TO BEFORE ME

SEAL

AOC-SP-914, Rev. 2/19
© 2019 Administrative Office of the Courts
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	County:                                    LEE
	ApplicantName: 
	ApplicantAddr1: 
	ApplicantAddr2: 
	ApplicantCity: 
	ApplicantState: 
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	DOB: 
	SSN: 
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	Provider1: LEE COUNTY CLERK OF COURT
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