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COMPLETE APPLICATION AND HAVE NOTARIZED.

COMPLETE PHYSICAL AND MENTAL HEALTH RELEASE FORM AND HAVE
NOTARIZED

SIGN DO'S AND DON'T FORM

ATTACH ORIGINAL CERTIFICATE FORM FROM FIREARM SAFETY & TRAINING
COURSE.

FEE .... $90 CASH / ONLY EXACT CHANGE / NON-REFUNDABLE
APPLICATIONS TAKEN BY APPOINTMENT ONLY!
TO SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT, CONTACT:
JOYCE PHILLIPS @ 919-718-4561, EXT 5
LISA BLACK @ 919-718-4561, EXT 6

INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED



APPLICATION FOR
STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT

Name of Applicant (Last, First, Middle, Maiden) B Attach listing of all previous

addresses and all name changes including location and court file number (If Applicable) |:| NEW PERMIT |:| RENEWAL PERMIT
D DUPLICATE D EMERGENCY TEMPORARY PERMIT
G. S. 14-415.10 et seq.
Street Address Date of Birth Social Security Number

» See Notification on page 3

City State Zip Code Driver's License Number (State ID Number if no driver's license) State

Mailing Address Military Status Race Sex Hair
[ Active [] Reserve | P> See below for code

[ Discharged [] Retired [] N/A

Telephone Number County of Residence Eyes Height | Weight Other Physical Description

» RACE CODES: A-Asian or Pacific Islander, B-Black, I-American Indian or Alaskan Native, U-Unknown, W-White

APPLICATION

I, the undersigned applicant, being duly sworn, hereby make application for a North Carolina Concealed Handgun Permit
and state that the following information is correct to the best of my knowledge.
(Check Appropriate Boxes)

1. Are you a citizen of the United States? 1 [lYes [1No
*If No: Have you been lawfully admitted for permanent residence? *  [JYes [INo
» If Yes, attach documentation
2. Are you 21 years of age or older? @ [JYes [INo
3. Have you been a resident of North Carolina for 30 days or longer immediately preceding the date of this application? (3) [ ]Yes []No
4. Do you suffer from a physical or mental infirmity that prevents the safe handling of a handgun? @ [JYes [No
5. Have you successfully completed an approved firearms safety and training course which involved the actual firing
of handguns and instruction in the laws of North Carolina governing the carrying of a concealed handgun and the
use of deadly force? B If Yes, attach documentation 5 [lYes [INo
*If No: Do you meet any of the exceptions in N.C.G.S. § 14-415.12A? * [Yes [No

» If Yes, attach documentation
Are you ineligible to own, possess, or receive a firearm under the provisions of State or federal law? 6) L[lYes [INo
7. Are you under indictment or has a finding of probable cause been entered against you for a pending felony charge? (7 [C] Yes  [C] No

8. Have you been adjudicated guilty in any court of a felony? ® [ ]Yes* [INo
*|f Yes: Have your firearm rights been restored pursuant to N.C.G.S. § 14-415.4? *  [Yes [JNo
» If Yes, attach documentation
9. Are you a fugitive from justice? 9 [1Yes [INo
10. Are you an unlawful user of (or addicted to) marijuana, alcohol, or any depressant, stimulant, or narcotic drug,
or any other controlled substance as defined in 21 U.S.C. § 8027 100 [JYes [INo
11. Are you currently or have you been previously adjudicated or administratively determined to be lacking
mental capacity or mentally ill? 1) [JYes [INo
12. Have you been discharged from the U.S. Armed Forces under conditions other than honorable? 120 [1Yes [INo

13. Have you been adjudicated guilty of, or received a prayer for judgment continued for, or received a suspended sentence
for, one or more crimes of violence constituting a misdemeanor, including but not limited to, a violation of the disqualifying

criminal offenses listed on page 3 of this form? » See “List of Disqualifying Criminal Offenses” on page 3 13 [lYes [INo
14. Have you had an entry of prayer for judgment continued for a criminal offense which would disqualify you

from obtaining a handgun permit? 14 [ JYes []No
15. Are you free on bond or personal recognizance pending trial, appeal, or sentencing for a crime which

would disqualify you from obtaining a concealed handgun permit? 15 [1Yes [No
16. Have you been convicted of an impaired driving offense under N.C. G.S. § 20-138.1, 20-138.2, or 20-138.3

within three years prior to the date of this application? 16) [ 1Yes [ 1No
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] Ihereby apply for a Temporary Emergency Permit for a nonrenewable period of up to 45 days based upon the
information set forth below. | reasonably believe that an emergency situation exists which may constitute a
risk of safety to me, my family, or my property.

State Grounds for Temporary Emergency Permit (Use attachment if necessary)

[] (Tobe completed for RENEWALS only) — | currently hold a valid Concealed Handgun Permit issued by the
County Sheriff’s Office. | hereby affirm that | remain qualified to receive and possess this Concealed Handgun
Permit pursuant to the criteria set forth in Article 54B of Chapter 14 of the NC General Statutes and the criteria
outlined in this application.

SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED TO BEFORE ME et

Date Signature of Person Authorized to Administer Oaths Signature of Applicant

Title
CAUTION

Federal law and State law on the possession of handguns and
firearms may differ. If you are prohibited by federal law from
possessing a handgun or a firearm, you may be prosecuted in federal
court. A State permit is not a defense to a federal prosecution.

Date Commission Expires

SEAL

SHERIFF USE ONLY

Check List — check applicable boxes:

1. Nonrefundable Permit Fee Paid ... O 8. Date Issued Temporary Permit

2. One Full Set of Fingerprints Administered by the Sheriff's Office ...... ] 9. Date Denied Temporary Permit

3. Original Certificate of Completion 10. Date Issued Permit
of Approved Firearms Safety & Training Course ..........ccoeonerrenne. O

Permit Number

4. Renewal-Waiver of Application Firearm Safety & Training Course ...I”
11. Date Denied Permit

5. Attachment(s) (Specif
(8) (Speciy) B 12 Date Submitted to SBI
6. Temporary DOcUmMENtation ...........ccooeeiieeeeeeeeieeeeeeee e
porary L 43, NICS Transaction Number (NTN)
7. Other (Specify) |

Signature of Sheriff:
Original — Sheriff / Copy — Applicant
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LIST OF DISQUALIFYING CRIMINAL OFFENSES

» NOTE: Effective July 1, 2015 for all CHP applications - an applicant who has been found guilty of or received a prayer for judgment
continued or a suspended sentence for one of the offenses listed in 1-20, AND THREE YEARS HAS PASSED PRIOR TO
SUBMITTING THE APPLICATION, can receive a Concealed Handgun Permit.

1o SIMPIE @SSAUIL ..ot N.C.G.S § 14-33(a)
2. VIOlAtON O COUM OFUBTS ........oooeece ettt s bbb sttt N.C.G.S. § 14-226.1
3. Furnishing poison, controlled substances, deadly weapons, cartridges, ammunition, or alcoholic beverages to inmates of

charitable, mental or penal institutions, or local confinement fAClItIES ..............coevecvriiieciececeeece s N.C.G.S. § 14-258.1
4. Carrying weapons on campus or other eduCational PrOPEILY ...........oreuriurreeeriiieeees e eees et ssess st sss st sssss st sssssseees N.C.G.S. § 14-269.2
5. Carrying weapons into assemblies and establishments where alcoholic beverages are sold and/or consumed............cccoccconveeenne. N.C.G.S. § 14-269.3
6.  Carry weapons on State property and COUMNOUSES ..........uriuuriuureerierieeeeseeeeseeessseeessseesseessssessssseess s sss st ssss st essss s ssssessss N.C.G.S. § 14-269.4
7. Possession and/or sale of spring-loaded ProjeCtile KNIVES...........ccc.rvueeveireveereiseceeeeee s N.C.G.S. § 14-269.6
8.  Impersonation of a law enforcement officer or other pUBIC OffICET..............cooivviiviciec s N.C.G.S. § 14-277
9. COMMUNICALING TNFEALS ..........ovveveeiici sttt N.C.G.S. § 14-277.1
10. Carry weapons at parades and other public GAthETINGS ............cccicvrivrie e N.C.G.S. § 14-277.2
11.  Exploding dynamite cartridges and/or bombs (except fireworks violations under N.C.G.S. § 14-414) .........c.ccoovvvmrvrvmreriverrrirerriesnrnn. N.C.G.S. § 14-283
12, RIOtNG @NA INCIING @ IO ........ovviciiicec sttt N.C.G.S. § 14-288.2
13.  Fighting or conduct creating the threat of imminent fighting or other VIolence............cc..ooevvervveeceseceee e, N.C.G.S. § 14-288.4(a)(1)
14. Looting and trespassing during an emergency ...N.C.G.S. § 14-288.6
15, ASSAUIL ON EMEIGENCY PEISONNEL..... oottt ettt es sS85 8 58888 N.C.G.S. § 14-288.9
16.  Violations of City state Of EMErgeNCY OrAINANCES ...ttt sttt N.C.G.S. § 14-288.12
17.  Violations of County state of emMergency OFAINANCES ..ot ss sttt ess st eesss s N.C.G.S. § 14-288.13
18.  Violations of State 0f EMEIGENCY OFAINANCES.........orvuirieiriieee ettt sttt N.C.G.S. § 14-288.14
19.  Violations of the standards for carrying a ConCealed WEAPON. ..ot sees st sssss st sneses N.C.G.S. § 14-415.21(b)
20. Misrepresentation on certification of qualified retired law enforcement OffiCers ..., N.C.G.S. § 14-415.26(d)

» NOTE: Offenses listed in 21-32 are permanent disqualifiers for a Concealed Handgun Permit.

21.  Assault inflicting serious injury or using deadly fOTCE ..........covieuriiriiice et s N.C.G.S. § 14-33(c)(1)
22, ASSAUIE ON @ FBMAIE .....cocvevivevcieicieic ettt ettt e e bbbttt s s s s e s e bbb e bbb e s et s et s et et et et et b b s s s s nnae bt ebane N.C.G.S § 14-33(c)(2)
23, Assault 0n a child UNAEr the @G OF 2.ttt N.C.G.S. § 14-33(c)(3)
24.  Assault inflicting serious injury or using a deadly weapon on a person in a personal relationship and in the

PIESENCE OF @ MINMOT......cvevvoireetseeeeesseeessseeeessseeess st et e85 8888885888588 88888 N.C.G.S. § 14-33(d)
25, SHAIKING ....oovvveiveeiie st RRR R N.C.G.S. § 14-277.3A
26, CRlA @DUSE ..ottt s ettt N.C.G.S. § 14-318.2
27, DOMESHC CrIMINGI HrBSPASS ... e vueereerereeeeearereres et seseesereseeseseseeseeseeseseeeeseseeeeseseeessesee s aeseeeeesee e et eeeseseeeeeeee s sneeseesetesaesnsasansesesannas N.C.G.S. § 14-134.3
28. Domestic violence protective Order VIOIAHIONS. ..........c.ouir ettt res ettt na et N.C.G.S. § 50B-4.1
20, SHAIKING ..ottt bbb R bR b R bbb bbb Former N.C.G.S. § 14-277.3

30. Any person convicted of a “misdemeanor crime of domestic violence” as defined in federal law at 18 USC 922(g)(8).

31.  Any crimes involving assault or a threat to assault a law enforcement officer, probation or parole officer, person employed at a
State or local detention facility, firefighter, emergency medical technician, medical responder, or emergency department personnel.

32.  Misdemeanor crimes that involve violence (other than the misdemeanors listed in items 1-20).
33.  Misdemeanor crimes under Article 8 of Chapter 14 (other than the misdemeanors listed in items 1-20).

» SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: The disclosure of your social security number as a part of this Concealed Handgun Permit application is voluntary. The purpose of
requesting the social security number is to assist in your identification and to help distinguish you from other persons with similar names. No Concealed Handgun Permit
will be denied for failure to disclose a social security number.
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THE DOS AND DON'TS OF CARRYING A
CONCEALED HANDGUN

» YOUR PERMIT TO CARRY A CONCEALED HANDGUN MUST BE CARRIED ALONG WITH VALID IDENTIFICATION WHENEVER
THE HANDGUN IS BEING CARRIED CONCEALED.

» WHEN APPROACHED OR ADDRESSED BY ANY OFFICER, YOU MUST DISCLOSE THE FACT THAT YOU HAVE A VALID
CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT AND INFORM THE OFFICER THAT YOU ARE IN POSSESSION OF A CONCEALED HANDGUN.
YOU SHOULD NOT ATTEMPT TO DRAW OR DISPLAY EITHER YOUR WEAPON OR YOUR PERMIT TO THE OFFICER UNLESS
AND UNTIL HE DIRECTS YOU TO DO SO. YOUR HANDS ARE TO BE KEPT IN PLAIN VIEW AND YOU ARE NOT TO MAKE ANY
SUDDEN MOVEMENTS.

» AT THE REQUEST OF ANY LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER, YOU MUST DISPLAY BOTH THE PERMIT AND VALID
IDENTIFICATION.

» YOU MAY NOT, WITH OR WITHOUT A PERMIT, CARRY A CONCEALED WEAPON WHILE CONSUMING ALCOHOL OR WHILE
ALCOHOL OR ANY CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES ARE IN YOUR BLOOD UNLESS THE CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE WAS
OBTAINED LEGALLY AND TAKEN IN THERAPEUTICALLY APPROPRIATE AMOUNTS.

» YOU MUST NOTIFY THE SHERIFF'S OFFICE WHO ISSUED THE PERMIT OF ANY ADDRESS CHANGE WITHIN THIRTY (30)
DAYS OF THE CHANGE OF ADDRESS. YOU MUST HAVE YOUR CURRENT ADDRESS ON YOUR LICENSE BEFORE WE CAN
MAKE A CHANGE.

» IF APERMIT IS LOST OR DESTROYED, YOU MUST NOTIFY THE SHERIFF WHO ISSUED THE PERMIT AND YOU MAY
RECEIVE A DUPLICATE PERMIT BY SUBMITTING A NOTARIZED STATEMENT TO THAT EFFECT ALONG WITH THE REQUIRED
FEE. DO NOT CARRY A HANDGUN WITHOUT IT.

» EVENWITH A PERMIT, YOU MAY NOT CARRY A CONCEALED HANDGUN IN THE FOLLOWING AREAS:

e ANY LAW ENFORCEMENT OR CORRECTIONAL FACILITY;

ANY SPACE OCCUPIED BY STATE OR FEDERAL EMPLOYEES;

ANY PREMISES WHERE THE CARRYING OF A CONCEALED HANDGUN IS PROHIBITED BY THE POSTING OF A
STATEMENT BY THE CONTROLLER OF THE PREMISES,;

EDUCATIONAL PROPERTY;

STATE OCCUPIED PROPERTY;

ANY STATE OR FEDERAL COURTHOUSE;

IN ANY AREA PROHIBITED BY FEDERAL LAW;

ANY LOCAL GOVERNMENT BUILDING IF THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT HAS ADOPTED AN ORDINANCE AND POSTED
SIGNS PROHIBITING THE CARRYING OF CONCEALED WEAPONS.

» IF YOU ARE IN A VEHICLE AND STOPPED BY A LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER, YOU SHOULD PUT BOTH HANDS ON THE
STEERING WHEEL, ANNOUNCE YOU ARE IN POSSESSION OF A CONCEALED HANDGUN AND STATE WHERE YOU HAVE IT
CONCEALED, AND THAT YOU ARE IN POSSESSION OF A PERMIT. DO NOT REMOVE YOUR HANDS FROM THE WHEEL
UNTIL INSTRUCTED TO DO SO BY THE OFFICER.

THIS IS TO CERTIFY THAT | HAVE READ AND UNDERSTAND THE DOS AND DON’TS OF CARRYING A CONCEALED
HANDGUN.

DATE SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT

DATE SIGNATURE OF WITNESS

MAY 2020

Page 7



RELEASE OF PHYSICAL AND MENTAL
STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA HEALTH, SUBSTANCE ABUSE AND
LEE County CONFIDENTIAL COURT RECORDS FOR
CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT

G.S. 14-415.13(a)(5)

Name And Address Of Applicant Date Of Birth Social Security No.

State Drivers License No. (State Identification No. if no Drivers License) State

| hereby authorize and require any and all doctors, hospitals or other providers who have ever provided physical or mental health or
substance abuse treatment or care to me, including without limitation the providers named below, to release to the sheriff of the above
named county any and all records concerning my physical capacity, mental health, mental capacity or substance abuse that the sheriff
may reasonably request in connection with my application for a concealed handgun permit. The purpose of the release is to enable the
sheriff to determine my qualification and competence to handle a handgun. | understand that alcohol and substance abuse information is
protected by federal regulations and that other confidential records such as psychiatric information may be protected by North Carolina
statute. Accordingly, | specifically authorize the release of any and all alcohol, substance abuse and psychiatric information that may be
documented in my records.

| understand that further disclosure or redisclosure by the sheriff of any information disclosed to the sheriff pursuant to this Release is
prohibited without my further written consent unless otherwise provided for by state or federal law. | understand that | may revoke this
authorization at any time except to the extent that action has already been taken in reliance on this Release. Even without my express
revocation, this Release will expire upon the satisfaction of the request or one year from the date below, whichever occurs first.

Name Of Provider Address Of Provider
LEE COUNTY CLERK OF COURT 1408S.HORNERBLVYD. SANFORD,NC 27330
SANDHILLS CENTERFORMH/DD 130CARBONTONRD. SANFORD,NC 27330
DAYMARK RECOVERY
HOLLY HILL HOSPITAL 3019FALLSTAFF RD. RALEIGH, NC 27610
MOOREREGIONAL - HIM RELEASEOF INFORMATION P.O0.BOX 3000 PINEHURST,NC 28734

| also request and authorize any and all clerks of superior court of North Carolina to inform the sheriff of this County whether or not the
clerk’s records contain the record of any involuntary commitment proceeding under Article 5 of Chapter 122C of the General Statutes in
which | have been named as a respondent and, if so, to reveal to the sheriff any confidential information in the court files or records of
each such proceeding that the sheriff may reasonably require in order to determine whether or not to issue a concealed handgun permit
to me. This Release may be treated as a motion in the cause within the meaning of G.S. 122C-54(d) and a clerk may reveal information
to the sheriff pursuant to any specific or standing order entered in response to or anticipation of this motion.

| authorize the sheriff to photocopy this Release after | sign it, and | authorize any provider to whom a photocopy of this Release is
presented to rely on the photocopy as being as effective as the original.

NOTE: Pursuant to G.S. 14-415.15(a), no person, company, mental health provider, or governmental entity may charge additional fees to
the applicant for a concealed handgun permit for a background check under that subsection.

Date

SWORN/AFFIRMED AND SUBSCRIBED TO BEFORE ME

Date Signature Of Person Authorized To Administer Oaths Signature Of Applicant

Title

Date Commission Expires

SEAL

AOC-SP-914, Rev. 2/19
© 2019 Administrative Office of the Courts
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