RENEWAL CONCEALED

HANDGUN PERMIT

1-COMPLETE APPLICATION AND HAVE
NOTARIZED.

2- COMPLETE PHYSICAL AND
MENTAL HEALTH RELEASE FORM

AND HAVE NOTARIZED.
3- SIGN DO’S AND DON’T FORM -
4- COMPLETE THE AFFIDAVIT FORM

AND HAVE NOTORIZED.

FEE....$75 CASH ONLY

EXACT CHANGE
NON-REFUNDABLE

CALL FOR AN APPOINTMENT
TO TURN IN APPLICATION
919-718-4561
JOYCE PHILLIPS EXT#5

OR ,
LISA BLACK EXT#6




STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA

Name of Applicant (Last, First, Middle, Maiden) P Atach listing of all previous

APPLICATION FOR
CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT

addresses and all name changes including location and court file number (If Applicable) |:| NEW PERMIT D RENEWAL PERMIT
[] DUPLICATE [] EMERGENCY TEMPORARY PERMIT
G. S. 14-415.10 et seq.
Street Address Date of Birth Social Security Number

P See Notification on page 3

City State Zip Code Driver's License Number (State ID Number if no driver's license) State
Mailing Address Military Status Race Sex Hair
[1 Active [ Reserve | P See below for code
[ Discharged [] Retired [ N/A
Telephone Number County of Residence Eyes Height | Weight Other Physical Description

» RACE CODES: Al-American Indian, A-Asian, B-Black, H-Native Hawaiian, P-Pacific Islander, W-White, L-Latino/Hispanic

| APPLICATION |

I, the undersigned applicant, being duly sworn, hereby make application for a North Carolina Concealed Handgun Permit
and state that the following information is correct to the best of my knowledge.

o~ N

10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

(Check Appropriate Boxes)

Are you a citizen of the United States? [0}

*If No: Have you been lawfully admitted for permanent residence? *

» If Yes, attach documentation
Are you 21 years of age or older?

—
N
—

Have you been a resident of North Carolina for 30 days or longer immediately preceding the date of this application? ¢

w
=

Do you suffer from a physical or mental infirmity that prevents the safe handling of a handgun?

—
~
=

Have you successfully completed an approved firearms safety and training course which involved the actual firing
of handguns and instruction in the laws of North Carolina governing the carrying of a concealed handgun and the
use of deadly force?  » If Yes, attach documentation (5)

* If No: Do you meet any of the exceptions in N.C.G.S. § 14-415.12A? *
» If Yes, attach documentation

Are you ineligible to own, possess, or receive a firearm under the provisions of State or federal law? (6)
Are you under indictment or has a finding of probable cause been entered against you for a pending felony charge?  (7)
Have you been adjudicated guilty in any court of a felony? )

*If Yes: Have your firearm rights been restored pursuant to N.C.G.S. § 14-415.4?
» If Yes, attach documentation

Are you a fugitive from justice? ©)
Are you an unlawful user of (or addicted to) marijuana, alcohol, or any depressant, stimulant, or narcotic drug,

or any other controlled substance as defined in 21 U.S.C. § 802? (10)
Are you currently or have you been previously adjudicated or administratively determined to be lacking

mental capacity or mentally ill? (12)
Have you been discharged from the U.S. Armed Forces under conditions other than honorable? (12)

Have you been adjudicated guilty of, or received a prayer for judgment continued for, or received a suspended sentence
for, one or more crimes of violence constituting a misdemeanor, including but not limited to, a violation of the disqualifying

criminal offenses listed on page 3 of this form? » See “List of Disqualifying Criminal Offenses” on page 3 (13)
Have you had an entry of prayer for judgment continued for a criminal offense which would disqualify you

from obtaining a handgun permit? (14)
Are you free on bond or personal recognizance pending trial, appeal, or sentencing for a crime which

would disqualify you from obtaining a concealed handgun permit? (15)
Have you been convicted of an impaired driving offense under N.C. G.S. § 20-138.1, 20-138.2, or 20-138.3

within three years prior to the date of this application? (16)
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[ ] Ihereby apply for a Temporary Emergency Permit for a nonrenewable period of up to 45 days based upon the
information set forth below. | reasonably believe that an emergency situation exists which may constitute a
risk of safety to me, my family, or my property.

State Grounds for Temporary Emergency Permit (Use attachment if necessary)

[] (Tobe completed for RENEWALS only) — | currently hold a valid Concealed Handgun Permit issued by the
County Sheriff’'s Office. | hereby affirm that | remain qualified to receive and possess this Concealed Handgun
Permit pursuant to the criteria set forth in Article 54B of Chapter 14 of the NC General Statutes and the criteria
outlined in this application.

D
SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED TO BEFORE ME e

Date Signature of Person Authorized to Administer Oaths Signature of Applicant

Title
CAUTION

Federal law and State law on the possession of handguns and
firearms may differ. If you are prohibited by federal law from
possessing a handgun or a firearm, you may be prosecuted in federal
court. A State permit is not a defense to a federal prosecution.

Date Commission Expires

SEAL

SHERIFF USE ONLY

Check List — check applicable boxes:

1. Nonrefundable Permit Fee Paid ... O 8. Date Issued Temporary Permit

2. One Full Set of Fingerprints Administered by the Sheriff's Office ...... O 9. Date Denied Temporary Permit

3. Original Certificate of Completion 10. Date Issued Permit
of Approved Firearms Safety & Training COUrSe ........ccoocoovevvvinrcriinnenns O

Permit Number

4. Renewal—Waiver of Application Firearm Safety & Training Course ... L1
11. Date Denied Permit

5. Attachment(s) (Speci
(8) (Specify) O 12. Date Submitted to SBI
6. Temporary DOCUMENTALION .........o.cocuieieieeieeseeseece e
porary O 13. NICS Transaction Number (NTN)
7. Other (Specify) a

Signature of Sheriff:
Original — Sheriff / Copy — Applicant
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LIST OF DISQUALIFYING CRIMINAL OFFENSES

» NOTE: Effective July 1, 2015 for all CHP applications — an applicant who has been found guilty of or received a prayer for judgment
continued or a suspended sentence for one of the offenses listed in 1-20, AND THREE YEARS HAS PASSED PRIOR TO
SUBMITTING THE APPLICATION, can receive a Concealed Handgun Permit.

Lo SIMPIE ASSAUIL.........ovvvriicriicsies sttt N.C.G.S § 14-33(a)

VIOIAHION OF COU OTUBIS ......vooeeeesieeeesie et eess ettt 8888888888888 N.C.G.S. § 14-226.1
3. Furnishing poison, controlled substances, deadly weapons, cartridges, ammunition, or alcoholic beverages to inmates of

charitable, mental or penal institutions, or local cONfINEMENE FACIIEIES ...........ovrveiriiirii s N.C.G.S. § 14-258.1
4. Carrying weapons on campus Or 0ther @dUCAtIONAl PIOPEIY........c.uureerreerreerrereereeeeseeere s s s seess st eesssesssssesssssssssssssssesssssnecs N.C.G.S. § 14-269.2
5. Carrying weapons into assemblies and establishments where alcoholic beverages are sold and/or consumed...........ccooecevneeeenn. N.C.G.S. § 14-269.3
6.  Carry weapons on State Property N0 COUMNOUSES ... cuuureerreerreeerreeesreesinressesesssseeesssesssseesssssesssseessseesssssesssesssssesssssssssssssssssesssnssssens N.C.G.S. § 14-269.4
7. Possession and/or sale of spring-loaded ProjeCtile KNIVES ... eeessee et ssessessss st sesssssssssssssssssesssanes N.C.G.S. § 14-269.6
8.  Impersonation of a law enforcement officer or other PUBIIC OffICET ..o N.C.G.S. § 14-277
9.  Communicating threats ..N.C.G.S. §14-277.1
10. Carry weapons at parades and other PUBIC GATNEIINGS ...ttt N.C.G.S. §14-277.2
11. Exploding dynamite cartridges and/or bombs (except fireworks violations under N.C.G.S. § 14-414) .........cccocoomvrvmmercvnnrrcrnsrrirenrrnnn, N.C.G.S. § 14-283
12, RIOtING AN INCIIING @ IO ......ooocvvviciiiciiesississ st bbb N.C.G.S. § 14-288.2
13.  Fighting or conduct creating the threat of imminent fighting or Other VIOIBNCE...........cc..veeveevvieceiecress s, N.C.G.S. § 14-288.4(a)(1)
14.  Looting and trespassing dUriNG @N EMEIJENCY..........couwvirrirrsiieisiisssissssisssssesssss st s st N.C.G.S. § 14-288.6
15, ASSAUlt ON EMEIGENCY PEISOMNEL..........iivereiriiiesiiessiseessses iS00 N.C.G.S. § 14-288.9
16. Violations of City State Of EMErgENCY OFTINANCES ...........uurreermureeerreeessreeessseesss s esss e sesss s ses st es st N.C.G.S. § 14-288.12
17.  Violations of County state Of EMEIGENCY OFUINANCES ........cccuuurreermrresrreresseeessseesssse st essss s sss s ssss s ses s N.C.G.S. § 14-288.13
18.  Violations of State Of EMEIGENCY OFUINANCES...........iweereeerieeeereeess e eess s eess st es s s es bt es bbbt N.C.G.S. § 14-288.14
19. Violations of the standards for carrying & CONCEAlE WEAPON............c. i ieeeeesseessseesssesess e sssseeessesssssssssssssssssssssssssees N.C.G.S. § 14-415.21(b)
20. Misrepresentation on certification of qualified retired law enforcement OffiCers ... N.C.G.S. § 14-415.26(d)

» NOTE: Offenses listed in 21-32 are permanent disqualifiers for a Concealed Handgun Permit.

21.  Assault inflicting serious injury or USING deadly fONCE .........cerieiririiireeree et N.C.G.S. § 14-33(c)(1)
22, ASSAUIL ON @ TBMAIE ....vucviiice et b bbb bR bbbttt n e ren et N.C.G.S § 14-33(c)(2)
23.  Assault on a child UNAEr the AGE OF 12..........vureieceieceeec sttt N.C.G.S. § 14-33(c)(3)
24. Assault inflicting serious injury or using a deadly weapon on a person in a personal relationship and in the

PIESENCE OF @ MINOT.......ovuveiiiiceiise it bbb N.C.G.S. § 14-33(d)
25, SHAIKING ...vooivvvevireiissis s8R0 N.C.G.S. § 14-277.3A
26, Gl BDUSE ...t N.C.G.S. § 14-318.2
27, DOMESHC CHIMINGI ETBSPASS ...v.vuvveerereusierereseretseseeseseseessesessssessesesesessssesessesesaseseses et s sseea s e sebebae e s et ee s b e s e st bbb s e b b ssnsennes N.C.G.S. §14-134.3
28.  Domestic violence proteCtive OrdEr VIOIALIONS. ..ottt N.C.G.S. §50B-4.1
29, SEAIKING ..vvevevieeiireeie ettt R e R R RS R RS E s R et ren Former N.C.G.S. § 14-277.3

30. Any person convicted of a “misdemeanor crime of domestic violence” as defined in federal law at 18 USC 922(g)(8).

31.  Any crimes involving assault or a threat to assault a law enforcement officer, probation or parole officer, person employed at a
State or local detention facility, firefighter, emergency medical technician, medical responder, or emergency department personnel.

32.  Misdemeanor crimes that involve violence (other than the misdemeanors listed in items 1-20).
33. Misdemeanor crimes under Article 8 of Chapter 14 (other than the misdemeanors listed in items 1-20).

» SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: The disclosure of your social security number as a part of this Concealed Handgun Permit application is voluntary. The purpose of
requesting the social security number is to assist in your identification and to help distinguish you from other persons with similar names. No Concealed Handgun Permit
will be denied for failure to disclose a social security number.
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© STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA

|
COUNTY OF |
Residence |
| AFFIDAVIT
IN THE MATTER OF THE |
CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT |
RENEWAL OF: |
(NAME) (PERMIT NUMBER)
1 éurrently hold a concealed handgun permit with County originally
issued on (date).

Pursuant to NCGS 14-415.16, T am hereby making timely apph'cation for the renewal of this
permit: I hereby affirm that I remain qualified to possess this permit pursuant to the criteria set
forth in Article 54B of Chapter 14 of the North carolina General Statutes,

Specifically, I affirm that:

1. I have successfully completed an approved firearms safety and training course
which involved the actual firing of handguns and instruction in the laws of North -
carolina governing the carrying of a concealed handgun and the use of deadly force

or am otherwise exempted from this course.

2. Lam eligible to own, possess, or receive a firearm under the provisions of state and
federal law.

3. I am not under indictment nor has any finding of probable cause been entered for a
pending felony charge.

4. I have not been adjudicated guilty in any court of a felony.

5. I am not a fugitive from justice.

6. I'am not an unlawful user of, or addicted to marjjuana, alcohol, or any depressant,
stimulant, or narcotic drug, or any other controlled substance as defined in 21
U.S.C. § 802.

7. -I'am not currently, and have not previously been adjudicated or administratively

determined to be lacking mental capacity or mentally ill.

8. I'have not been discharged from the armed forces under conditions other than
honorable.



9" " Thave not-been adjudicated guilty of or received a pta}'{ér»fcf}'r“jtid‘g‘e“xhem continued

8, I have
or suspended sentence for one or more crimes of violence constituting a
misdemeanor, including but not limited to, a violation of the disqualifying criminal
offenses listed on attachment (1) to this form. _
10.  Ihave not had an entry of a prayer for judgement continued for a ¢riminal offense
-which could disqualify me from obtaining a concealed handgun permit.
11. T am not free on bond or personal recognizance pending trial, appeal, or sentencing
for a crime which would disqualify me from obtaining a concealed handgun permit,
12, T have not been convicted of an Vimpaired driving offense under G.S. 20-138, 1, 20-
138.2 or 20-138.3 within three years prior to the date of this affidavit.
13.  I'am 21 years of age or older.
14. I am a citizen of the United States.
15. I am a current resident of North Carolina and have lived here 30 day"s or longer
prior to this renewal application. :
16.  Idonot have a physical or mental infirmity that prevents the safe handling of a
handgun, : T :
17. . I have not violated any of the standards for carrying é.;r:oncealed handgun with this
-permit as set forth in Article 54B of Chapter 14 of the North Carolina General
Statutes.
This the day of 4
. Signature
State of North Carolina
County of

Sworn and subscribed before me, this the day of

’

Notary Public
My Commission expires




“DO’S AND DON’TS” OF CARRYING A CONCEALED HANDGUN

Your permit to carry a concealed handgun must be carried along with valid identification
whenever the handgun is being carried concealed.

When approached or addressed by any officer, you must disclose the fact that you have a
valid concealed handgun permit and inform the officer that you are in possession of a

concealed handgun. You should not attempt to draw or display either your weapon or your
permit for the officer unless and until he/she directs you to do so. Your hands are to be kept

in plain view and you are not to make any sudden movements.

At the request of any law enforcement officer, you must display both the permit and valid
identification. -

You may not, with or without a permit, carry a concealed weapon while consuming alcohol
or while alcohol or any substance, controlled or otherwise, is in your blood unless the
substance was obtained legally and taken in therapeutically appropriate amounts.

You must notify the sheriff who issued your permit of any address change within thirty (30)
days of the change of address.

If a permit is lost or destroyed, you must notify the sheriff who issued the permit and you
may receive a duplicate permit by submitting a notarized statement to that effect, along with

the required fee. Do not carry a handgun without it.

Even with a permit, you may not carry a concealed handgun in the following areas:

Any law enforcement or correctional facility;

a.
b.  Any space occupied by State or federal employees;
Any premises where the carrying of a concealed handgun is prohibited by the posting

of a statement by the controller of the premises;
Public educational property, however a permittee may secure a handgun in a locked

C.

vehicle;

Areas of assemblies or demonstrations;

State occupied property;

Any State or federal courthouse;

Any area prohibited by federal law;

Any local government building if the local government has adopted an ordinance and

posted signs prohibiting the carrying of concealed weapons.

e Y

If you are in a vehicle and stopped by a law enforcement officer, you should put both hands
on the steering wheel, announce you are in possession of a concealed handgun and state
where you have it concealed, and that you are in possession of a permit. Do not remove your

hands from the wheel until instructed to do so by the officer.

SIGNATURE DATE



RELEASE OF PHYSICAL AND MENTAL HEALTH,
SUBSTANCE ABUSE AND CONFIDENTIAL COURT
RECORDS FOR CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT

Date Of Birth

STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA
County

Name And Address Of Applicant

Social Security No.

State Drivers License No. (State Identification No. If No Drivers License) State

| hereby authorize and require any and all doctors, hospitals or other providers who have ever provided physical or
mental health or substance abuse treatment or care to me, including without limitation the providers named below, to
release to the sheriff of the above named county any and all records concerning my physical capacity, mental health,
mental capacity or substance abuse that the sheriff may reasonably request in connection with my application for a
concealed handgun permit. The purpose of the release is to enable the sheriff to determine my qualification and
competence to handle a handgun. | understand that alcohol and substance abuse information is protected by federal
regulations and that other confidential records such as psychiatric information may be protected by North Carolina statute.
Accordingly, | specifically authorize the release of any and all alcohol, substance abuse and psychiatric information that

may be documented in my records.

| understand that further disclosure or redisclosure by the sheriff of any information disclosed to the sheriff pursuant to this
Release is prohibited without my further written consent unless otherwise provided for by state of federal law. |
understand that | may revoke this authorization at any time except to the extent that action has already been taken in
reliance on this Release. Even without my express revocation, this Release will expire upon the satisfaction of the
request or one year from the date below, whichever occurs first.

Name Of Provider Address Of Provider

LEE COUNTY CLERK OF COURT 1408 HORNER BLVD, SANFORD, NC 27330

SANDHILLS CENTER FOR MH/DD 130 CARBONTON RD, SANFORD, NC 27330

DAYMARK RECOVERY

HOLLY HILL HOSPITAL 3019 FALSTAFF RD, RALEIGH, NC 27610

MOORE REGIONAL - HIM P.O. BOX 3000, PINEHURST NC 28374

| also request and authorize any and all clerks of superior court of North Carolina to inform the sheriff of this County
whether or not the clerk's records contain the record of any involuntary commitment proceeding under Article 5 of Chapter
122C of the General Statutes in which | have been named as a respondent and, if so, to reveal to the sheriff any
confidential information in the court files or records of each such proceeding that the sheriff may reasonably require in
order to determine whether or not to issue a concealed handgun permit to me. This Release may be treated as a motion
in the cause within the meaning of G.S. 122C-54(d) and a clerk may reveal information to the sheriff pursuant to any
specific or standing order entered in response to or anticipation of this motion.

Any expenses relating to the search, production, copying and certification of a medical or court record pursuant to this
Release shall be my responsibility. | authorize the sheriff to photocopy this Release after | sign it, and | authorize any
provider to whom a photocopy of this Release is presented to rely on the photocopy as being as effective as the original.

Date
SWORN AND SUBSCRIBED TO BEFORE ME

Date Signature Of Person Authorized To Administer Oaths

Signature Of Applicant

Title

Date Commission Expires

SEAL

AOC-SP-914M, New 12/95,
© 1997 Administrative Office of the Courts
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