Portal Login | SITEMAP | FAQ's | ESPANOL  
Departments » Soil & Water » Board and Staff




District Board of Supervisors

The operations and programs of the Lee Soil and Water Conservation District are overseen by a five member Board of Supervisors. Three members are elected nonpartisan by Lee County voters and two members are appointed by the State Soil and Water Conservation Commission. All board members serve four year terms and receive no salary. They are as follows:

  • Michael Gaster -Chairman  (elected)

  • Tony Ragan - Vice Chair (appointed)

  • David Dycus Secretary/Treasurer (appointed)

  • Tommy Dalrymple Member (elected)

  • John Gross Member (elected)

 The Board meetings are scheduled for the second Tuesday of each month.  

The times are as follows:

January thru March-8:00 am

April thru October-7:00 pm

November thru December-8:00 am 

The Board doesn't normally meet in July and August.

District Staff Members 

The Lee Soil and Water Conservation District is assisted by two county funded employees and two federally funded USDA-NRCS employees. They are:

  • Teresa Nicholson - Administrative Assistant, District      tnicholson@leecountync.gov

  • Megan Engel - Soil Conservationist Technician, NRCS   megan.engel@nc.usda.gov 

Soil & Water

McSwain Picture

Ernest & Ruby McSwain Center
2420 Tramway Road
Sanford, NC 27330


Phone 919-776-2633


Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday
8 am - 5 pm